Produktionstechnik und Organisation
Department of Engineering

Production Technology and Organization

 

Study while at the same time gaining practical experience at a company and earn money – this is what our co-op bachelor programme offers. You will become an all-rounder in production technology and the organisation of manufacturing companies – and you can also immerse yourself in the international world of work.

What you will learn:

Developing products

Creativity and technical understanding is required right from the first semester. An introductory project will challenge you to find solutions to specific everyday problems as well as devising concepts for the implementation of these ideas in a production process.

Planning processes

The old saying of ‘time is money’ applies to production in particular. In concrete projects, you will have the chance to plan highly efficient and cost-effective production processes.

Protecting resources

Manufacturing products of any kind requires the use of resources and energy. Specific projects will show you how sustainable management can be achieved through modern production processes and new sources of energy and raw materials.

Working in a team

Projects are generally handled in small groups. Courses in project management and communication lay the foundations for these team skills. This is an important experience for your studies as well as for the various activities involved in the practical work sessions.

Commitment to quality

Thanks to the close collaboration between the course and Quality Austria, students can complete the certification programme to become a ‘Quality Management Representative’ and thus acquire a highly sought-after qualification.

Developing networks

Constant contact with professors, fellow students and graduates at the university as well as colleagues and superiors at various companies will enable you to establish a unique network of knowledge and experience.

Did you know, …

… that some of Austria’s biggest companies are partners of this course?

Andritz AG, BMW, Magna, OMV, Siemens, voestalpine – all of them have given our students the opportunity to complete their practical training in an industrial environment. And there are over 100 other renowned companies providing work placement and employment opportunities for our students and graduates.

Did you know, …

… that our graduate network extends far beyond Austria?

Our graduates do not just work in Austria but across the world. Many training companies give students the opportunity to work for one of their subsidiary or partner companies abroad. In this way, the spirit of Production Technology and Organization has spread to China, Japan, Russia and the USA.

Did you know, …

… that our graduates are successful entrepreneurs?

Many of our graduates have already made the jump to self-employment and have founded their own companies. Comprehensive training in the field of industrial engineering and management and ongoing opportunities to apply the knowledge acquired at various partner companies create the ideal conditions for founding a successful start-up.

Did you know, …

… that our students are also responsible for the exceptional quality of Austrian beer?

Modern production technology is about more than just manufacturing machines and vehicles. The Brauunion Österreich brewery is one of our many partner companies and provides students with the opportunity to learn how beer is brewed, bottled and stored and how all the raw materials needed are made available at the right place, at the right time.

Did you know, …

… that our students can learn first-hand how the blades of an aircraft engine are forged?

Close cooperation with industrial companies provides students with the chance to undertake special excursions to production sites that are not usually open to the public. In this way, you will be able to learn about the processes involved, make direct contact with the relevant production specialists and incorporate this expertise into your own professional practice.

Did you know, …

… that we offer lateral entry?

If you have completed a secondary technical school (HTL) in mechanical engineering or operational engineering, you can start straight away in the second or third semester. You will therefore not lose any time.

Department für Engineering

Produktionstechnik und Organisation

 

Studieren, gleichzeitig in einem Unternehmen Praxis sammeln und Geld verdienen – das ermöglicht unser duales Bachelor-Studium. Bei uns werden Sie zum Allrounder für Produktionstechnik und die Organisation von Produktionsunternehmen ausgebildet. Und Sie tauchen auch in die internationale Arbeitswelt ein.

Das erwartet Sie im Studium:

Produkte entwickeln

Bereits im ersten Semester ist Kreativität und technisches Verständnis gefragt. Im Rahmen einer einführenden Projektarbeit sollen nicht nur Lösungen für konkrete Problemstellung des Alltags gefunden werden, sondern auch Konzepte für die produktionstechnische Umsetzung dieser Ideen erarbeitet werden.

Prozesse planen

Das alte Sprichwort „Zeit ist Geld“ gilt ganz besonders in der Produktion. Im Rahmen konkreter Projekte lernen Sie Produktionsabläufe so zu planen, dass diese mit optimaler Effizienz und damit größtmöglicher Wirtschaftlichkeit arbeiten.

Ressourcen schonen

Die Herstellung von Produkten jeglicher Art erfordert immer den Einsatz von Rohstoffen und Energie. Anhand konkreter Projekte erfahren Sie, wie durch den Einsatz moderner Produktionsverfahren sowie neuen Rohstoff- und Energiequellen nachhaltig gewirtschaftet werden kann.

Im Team arbeiten

Projekte werden zumeist in Kleingruppen bearbeitet. Lehrveranstaltungen zu Projektmanagement und Kommunikation legen den Grundstein für Teamfähigkeit – vor allem eine wichtige Erfahrung für die Aufgaben in den Praxisphasen.

Qualität leben

Durch die enge Zusammenarbeit zwischen Studiengang und Quality Austria können Studierende im Rahmen des Studiums die Zertifizierungsprüfung zum „Systembeauftragten Qualität“ ablegen und erwerben somit eine begehrte Zusatzqualifikation.

Netzwerke aufbauen

Der permanente Kontakt mit Professorinnen, Professoren, Kommilitonen, Absolventinnen und Absolventen an der Hochschule sowie Kolleginnen, Kollegen und Vorgesetzten in Unternehmen, ermöglicht es Ihnen ein einzigartiges Wissens- und Erfahrungsnetzwerk aufzubauen.

Wussten Sie, …

… dass die größten Unternehmen Österreichs Partner des Studiengangs sind?

Ob Andritz AG, BMW, Magna, OMV, Siemens oder voestalpine: In all diesen Unternehmen haben unsere Studierenden ihre Praxisphasen absolviert. Und es gibt noch mehr als 100 weitere renommierte Unternehmen, in denen unsere Studierenden in den Praxisphasen und auch später tätig sind.

Wussten Sie, …

… dass unser Absolventinnen- und Absolventen-Netzwerk weit über Österreich hinausgeht?

Unsere Absolventinnen und Absolventen sind nicht nur in Österreich tätig, sondern arbeiten auf der ganzen Welt. Viele Studierende erhalten bereits während der Praxisphasen von ihren Ausbildungsbetrieben die Möglichkeit, zu einem Tochter- oder Partnerunternehmen ins Ausland zu gehen. Auf diese Weise wurde unser Spirit schon nach China, Japan, Russland oder in die USA getragen.

Wussten Sie, …

… dass unsere Absolventinnen und Absolventen erfolgreiche UnternehmerInnen sind?

Viele unserer Absolventinnen und Absolventen haben den Sprung in die Selbstständigkeit gewagt und selbst ein Unternehmen gegründet. Die umfassende Ausbildung im Bereich Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen und die ständige Anwendung des erlernten Wissens in den Partnerunternehmen schaffen ideale Voraussetzungen für die Gründung eines erfolgreichen Start-Up-Unternehmens.

Wussten Sie, …

… dass unsere Studierenden auch für die hervorragende Qualität österreichischen Biers sorgen?

Moderne Produktionstechnik umfasst sehr viel mehr als nur die Herstellung von Maschinen und Fahrzeugen. Neben vielen anderen ist auch die Brauunion Österreich unser Ausbildungspartner und Studierende lernen dort nicht nur, wie man Bier braut, sondern auch wie man es abfüllt, lagert und wie man es schafft, dass alle nötigen Rohstoffe zur richtigen Zeit am richtigen Ort sind.

Wussten Sie, …

… dass Sie hautnah erleben können, wie Schaufeln eines Flugzeugtriebwerks geschmiedet werden?

Die enge Kooperation mit Industriebetrieben erlaubt es im Rahmen von Fachexkursionen Produktionsanlagen zu besichtigen, die man sonst niemals zu Gesicht bekommen würde. Auf diese Weise lernen Sie nicht nur die Prozesse optimal kennen, Sie knüpfen auch gleich direkte Kontakte zu den jeweiligen Fertigungsspezialisten und können so Expertenwissen in Ihre eigene Berufspraxis einfließen lassen.

Wussten Sie, …

… dass Sie quereinsteigen können?

Wenn Sie Ihre Matura an einer HTL mit der Fachrichtung Maschinenbau oder Betriebstechnik gemacht haben, können Sie direkt in das zweite oder dritte Semester einsteigen. Sie verlieren also keine Zeit.