Institute of

Electronic Engineering

 
Electronic Engineering 3

Electronic engineering is a fast-paced field. At our research department, students are offered insight into the latest industrial development and production processes. Our graduates are ideally equipped to pursue a successful career in Austria or abroad on the solid basis of our multi-faceted training at the cutting edge of technology.

Teaching and research at the Institute of Electronic Engineering are based on cutting edge technology and focus on the diverse applications of electronics in automotive engineering, industry, medicine and power generation from renewable sources.

The Institute of Electronic Engineering conducts research in the fields of innovative power electronics and energy efficiency together with partners from industry. Research is aimed at ensuring an efficient and sustainable conversion of electrical energy. The Micro-SolarInverter developed by project manager Hubert Berger and his team can feed power from ten solar modules into the grid, representing huge progress in the field of energy conversion.

Automotive Electronics

This research field focuses on the development and simulation of hybrid and electric vehicles. The Institute’s expertise in this field includes electric and hybrid drives, energy management, mechatronic systems, safety and comfort as also communication and infotainment in vehicles. Special emphasis is placed on the topic of Zero Emission Mobility and the development of new generation electric vehicles and related infrastructure including power generation from renewable sources. Research is mainly carried out in large-scale projects funded under national and EU programmes in cooperation with renowned national and international partners.

Micro- & Nano-Electronics

Research in the field of Micro-& Nano-Electronics covers pioneering technologies such as chip design, communication technology, signal processing, audio and video applications, automation and photovoltaics.

  • Chip design
    The Institute responds to the strong trend towards further miniaturisation of electronic components by designing electronic integrated circuits at chip level. The chips installed in modern devices such as mobile phones and laptops must meet a range of different requirements. On the one hand these electronic components must perform more and more functions, while on the other hand they should be ever smaller, lighter and need less power. This is a great challenge for chip designers, who develop components from the idea to the circuit diagram and final testing of the silicon semiconductor chip.

  • Hardware design including low-level software
    Research activities in the field of Embedded Systems focus on the development of products and components. Embedded systems are electronic components consisting of hardware and software, which are integrated in a multitude of devices used in the home, in industry or in modern vehicles. The Institute of Electronic Engineering has established a dedicated hardware design centre where state-of-the-art design tools are used to develop electronic integrated circuits at board and chip level.

  • Automation & Control
    The Institute specialises in the following fields of automation engineering:

    • Field bus communication systems in industrial automation
    • Automation in the automotive industry with a focus on rapid prototyping methods in software development
    • Wireless sensor/actuator networks
    • Automation of measurement systems
    • Remote control systems: systems for the remote control and monitoring of devices and facilities via the internet, e.g. monitoring of large-scale PV systems or remote monitoring of power charging stations
    • Development of micro-SPS

Laboratory for High-Frequency Engineering

The Institute offers a broad range of services in the field of high-frequency engineering: from consulting, modelling and simulation through to implementation and measurement of different high-frequency applications and high-speed circuits. An anechoic chamber is available for characterising the applications developed and for carrying out different high-frequency and EMC measurements.

Collaboration opportunities
  • Collaboration with partners in research contracts or funded research projects
  • Exploration of research questions as part of Bachelor’s and Master’s theses
Degree programmes
Master's course

Institut

Electronic Engineering

 
Electronic Engineering 3

„Die Elektronik entwickelt sich rasant. In unserer Forschungsabteilung erhalten unsere Studierenden Einblicke in aktuelle industrielle Entwicklungs- und Produktionsprozesse. Durch die facettenreiche Ausbildung am neuesten Stand der Technologie haben unsere Absolventinnen und Absolventen die besten Karten für eine erfolgreiche Karriere im In- und Ausland.“

Institutsleiter Hubert Berger

Auf der Grundlage neuester Technologien widmet sich das Institut Electronic Engineering in Lehre und Forschung den vielfältigen Anwendungen von Elektronik in den Bereichen Automobil, Industrie, Medizin sowie der Erzeugung von elektrischer Energie aus regenerativen Quellen.

Das Institut Electronic Engineering forscht gemeinsam mit Partnern aus der Industrie an innovativer Leistungselektronik sowie Energieeffinzienz. Ziel der Forschungen ist, dass die Umwandlung elektrischer Energie möglichst effizient und umweltschonend passiert.

Mit dem Micro-SolarInverter, der den Strom von zehn Solarmodulen in das Netz einspeisen kann, gelang dem Team rund um Projektleiter Hubert Berger ein großer Fortschritt im Bereich der Energieumwandlung.

Automotive Electronics

In diesem Schwerpunkt wird an der Entwicklung und Simulation von Hybrid- und Elektrofahrzeugen geforscht. Elektrische und hybride Antriebe, Energiemanagement, mechatronische Systeme, Sicherheit und Komfort sowie Kommunikation und Infotainment in Fahrzeugen sind die Schwerpunkte. Im Besonderem widmet sich das Institut dem Thema Zero Emission Mobility und arbeitet an der Entwicklung neuer Generationen von Elektroautos sowie der zugehörigen Infrastruktur samt der Stromerzeugung aus regenerativen Quellen.

Die Forschung wird hauptsächlich im Rahmen großer Förderprojekte – nationale sowie EU-Programme – in Zusammenarbeit mit renommierten nationalen und internationalen Partnern durchgeführt.

Micro- & Nano-Electronics

Zukunftsweisende Technologien wie Chipdesign, Kommunikationstechnik, Signalverarbeitung, Audio- und Video-Anwendungen, Automatisierung sowie Photovoltaik sind die Themen des Schwerpunkts Micro-& Nano-Electronics.

  • Chipdesign
    Dem starken Trend nach weiterer Miniaturisierung elektronischer Komponenten wird durch das Design elektronischer Schaltungen auf Chipebene Rechnung getragen. Modernste Geräte wie Handys und Laptops benötigen Chips, die unterschiedlichen Anforderungen gerecht werden müssen. Einerseits sollen diese elektronischen Bauteile immer mehr Funktionen übernehmen, andererseits sollen sie kleiner und leichter werden und zusätzlich sparsam beim Strombedarf sein. Dieser Herausforderung stellt sich das Chip Design, also die Entwicklung der Bauteile von der Idee über den Schaltplan bis zum Testen des fertigen Silizium- Halbleiterchips.

  • Hardware Design inklusive hardwarenaher Software
    Im Bereich Embedded Systems steht die Konzeption und Entwicklung von Produkten und Komponenten im Vordergrund. Unter eingebetteten Systemen versteht man elektronische Komponenten bestehend aus Hard- und Software, die heute in unzähligen Geräten im Haushalt, in der Industrie oder zum Beispiel im Automobil eingebaut sind. Das Institut Electronic Engineering hat dazu ein Hardware-Design-Center eingerichtet, in dem mit modernsten Entwicklungswerkzeugen elektronische Schaltungen sowohl auf Board-Level – Leiterplatten – als auch auf Chip-Level entworfen werden.

  • Automation & Control
    In der Automatisierungstechnik hat sich das Institut auf einige Themenfelder spezialisiert:

    • Feldbuskommunikations-Systeme in der industriellen Automation
    • Automatisierung in der Automobilindustrie mit Fokus auf Rapid-Prototyping-Verfahren in der Software-Entwicklung
    • Drahtlose Sensor-/Aktor-Netzwerke
    • Automatisierung von Messsystemen
    • Remote-Control-Systems: Systeme zur Fernsteuerung und -überwachung von Geräten und Anlagen über Internet, etwa Überwachung großer PV-Systeme oder Remote-Monitoring von Stromtankstellen
    • Entwicklung von Micro-SPS

Labor für Hochfrequenztechnik

Auf dem Gebiet der HF-Technik bietet das Institut unter anderem ein breites Spektrum an Dienstleistungen: von der Beratung über Simulation und Modellierung bis hin zur Realisierung und messtechnischen Verifizierung verschiedenster Hochfrequenzanwendungen und High-Speed-Schaltungen. Für die messtechnische Charakterisierung der Anwendungen steht eine Schirm- und Absorberkammer für verschiedenste Hochfrequenz- und EMV-Messungen zur Verfügung.

Kooperationsmöglichkeiten
  • Zusammenarbeit im Zuge von freifinanzierten oder geförderten Forschungsprojekten
  • Abhandlung von Forschungsthemen im Rahmen von Bachelor- und Master-Arbeiten