Project

Exhibits by DMT

 

The Digital Media Technologies (DMT) group of the Information Management degree programme develops multimedia solutions for a variety of applications. DMT is involved in several projects with multimedia interactive installations for museums and exhibitions.

Books which speak, digital projections which can be influenced by movements or material cards, and other technologies which make exhibitions interactive and thus more exciting for children and adults count among the specialities of the Digital Media Technologies (DMT) group. DMT develops and adapts technologies for interactive installations – such as tailor-made input devices and settings for augmented reality applications, etc. – and is able to produce or prepare the necessary multimedia content in FH JOANNEUM’s own studios. The services of DMT are scalable depending on the demands of the exhibition. They range from individual installations, starting with the conventional info app for touch screens, to complex interactive spaces in which virtual environments can be controlled by the body.

Focus on user-friendliness

Usability is at the centre of the projects. This is ideally already included in the design of the installations or multimedia exhibitions. “The requirements of the target group must be recognised and taken into account early on in the design process so that visitors to an exhibition feel good and actively accept the content. This guarantees word of mouth advertising and positive viral effects and leads to a higher rate of repeat visitors,” says Alexander Nischelwitzer, head of the Digital Media Technologies group.

Interactive multimedia applications for companies and museums

Apart from usability and accessibility services, the expertise of the DMT team comprises design, evaluation and implementation of interactive multimedia information products for companies and museums as well as the development of mobile applications for smartphones and tablets. The development team and Information Management students have access to cutting-edge multimedia and project laboratories, including the Digital Media Lab, the Digital Creativity Lab, Vision Space, a video studio/bluebox and an audio studio.

From Graz to Trinidad & Tobago

The most important partner of the DMT group is the Graz children’s museum FRida & freD. Interactive exhibitions designed by DMT for FRida & freD have already been shown in Germany, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Romania, Serbia and Croatia. The round trip through the human body which was designed in 2006 under the title “Head over Heart” (Kopfüber herzwärts) has even been shown as far away as Trinidad and Tobago and was last on display in Neu-Ulm, Germany, in 2015.

Projekt

Exhibits by DMT

 

Der Kompetenzbereich Digitale Medien Technologien (DMT) des Studiengangs Informationsmanagement entwickelt Multimediaanwendungen für unterschiedliche Einsatzgebiete. In mehreren Projekten beschäftigt sich DMT mit multimedialen, interaktiven Installationen für Museen und Ausstellungen.

Bücher, die zu einem sprechen, digitale Projektionen, die man mit Bewegungen oder Materialkarten beeinflusst, und andere Technologien, die eine Ausstellung für Kinder, aber auch für Erwachsene interaktiv und damit spannender macht, zählen zu den Spezialitäten des Kompetenzbereichs Digitale Medien Technologien (DMT). Dieser entwickelt und adaptiert die Technologien für interaktive Installationen – wie maßgeschneiderte Eingabegeräte oder die Settings für Augmented-Reality-Anwendungen etc. – und kann in den FH-eigenen Studios auch die erforderlichen multimedialen Inhalte aufbereiten bzw. produzieren. Die Leistungen des Kompetenzbereichs des DMT sind je nach ausstellungsfunktionaler Erfordernis skalierbar: Sie reichen von einzelnen Installationen, angefangen von der konventionellen Info-App für Touchscreens, bis hin zu komplexen interaktiven Räumen, in denen virtuelle Umgebungen mit dem Körper gesteuert werden können.

Benutzerfreundlichkeit im Zentrum

Im Zentrum der Projekte steht die Usability. Diese wird idealerweise schon in die Planungen der Installationen oder multimedialen Ausstellungen einbezogen. „Erst wenn die Bedürfnisse der Zielgruppe rechtzeitig erkannt und berücksichtigt werden, fühlen sich BesucherInnen in einer Ausstellung wohl und nehmen die Inhalte aktiv an. Dies garantiert Mundpropaganda sowie positive virale Effekte und führt zu einer höheren Quote an wiederkehrenden BesucherInnen”, sagt Alexander Nischelwitzer, der Leiter des Bereichs Digitale Medien Technologien.

Interaktive Multimediaanwendungen für Firmen und Museen

Die Kompetenzen des DMT-Teams umfassen neben Usability- und Accessibility-Dienstleistungen die Konzeption, Evaluierung und Umsetzung von interaktiven multimedialen Informationsprodukten für Firmen und Museen sowie die Entwicklung mobiler Applikationen für Smartphones und Tablets. Dabei stehen dem Entwicklerteam und den Studierenden von Informationsmanagement Multimedia- und Projektlabors am Stand der Technik zur Verfügung, darunter das Digital Media Lab, das Digital Creativity Lab, das Vision Space, ein Videostudio/Bluebox und ein Audiostudio.

Von Graz bis nach Trinidad & Tobago

Der wichtigste Partner des Bereichs DMT ist das Grazer Kindermuseum FRida & freD. Ausstellungen, die von DMT für FRida & freD interaktiv gestaltet wurden, waren bereits in Deutschland, Belgien, Tschechien, der Slowakei, Rumänien, Serbien und Kroatien zu sehen. Die 2006 unter dem Titel „Kopfüber herzwärts“ konzipierte Rundreise durch den menschlichen Körper wurde sogar in Trinidad und Tobago gezeigt und war zuletzt 2015 in Neu-Ulm, Deutschland, zu sehen.