Project

High Efficiency Coach

Transportation Design

 
High Efficiency Coach

In collaboration with MAN Truck & Bus AG, students developed vehicle concepts for long-distance coaches of the brands MAN and NEOPLAN with a maximum cruising speed of 130 km/h. Thus, a higher average speed and shorter travel times are achieved.

The High Efficiency Coach of the future hence becomes a real alternative to the plane over shorter distances. Since greater speeds cause higher air resistance, while the consumption of fuel should not rise, possibilities of reducing the energy consumption were also considered.

First Semester Master / Winter semester 2015/16; Transportation Design

NEOPLAN A24-7AERO

Laura Lang, Ivo Wawer, Daniel Brunsteiner

Aero 24-7 is an aerodynamic high-efficiency coach that travels non-stop, day and night. The integrated autonomous driving mode makes this possible. Providing a private jet experience, it gives passengers the possibility to use their travel time efficiently by working or sleeping during the journey. The specially designed interior, the seats and their single-row arrangement fulfil the passengers’ needs.

MAN START-UP

Clara Feßler, Martin Friedrich, Benjamin Loinger

MAN Start-up is a modular bus system that focuses on the needs of bus operators. The basic bus can be extended through three modules. Thus, luggage storage, equipment and the number and distance of the seats can be adapted to any kind of journey. Furthermore, the colour scheme can be varied to fit the operator’s corporate identity. The possibility to hand over the steering to the bus ahead enables the driver of the second bus to spend the breaks in the cockpit.

OMNI 2.0

Philipp Fromme, Jenny Gebler, Marian Massegg

MAN OMNI 2.0 is a double-decker bus with an easily accessible and especially spacious business class. The generous dimensions also provide superior comfort for people with disabilities. MAN OMNI 2.0 is a bus for everybody.

ROADTRAIN 2026

Luis Meixner, Jan Ernhardt, Thomas Gössler, Dieter Friedrich

The Roadtrain concept utilises the architectural composition of trailer trucks to its advantage in order to increase its passenger capacity without compromising manoeuvrability in cities and on narrow roadways.

SMART UNIT

Florian Howecker, Daniel Öxler, Mara Pöllinger, Kai Grammel

MAN SMART UNIT is an autonomous, modular, inter-urban coach system. The concept allows passengers to travel seamlessly, efficiently and comfortably from door-to-door using only one vehicle. The system is based on coach modules which can be ordered individually with the SMARTUNIT app or used as a scheduled service.

OTIUM

Hélène Couperot, Jean-Marc Wilkens, Malvina Krzywinska

Because of cocoons instead of regular seats, a new travelling experience is created. Those private compartments contain a lounger-like seat which allows a completely relaxed, half-lying position. The central drive unit, in which the motor is hidden, also serves as the mid-joint of the bus, allowing a very small turning circle despite OTIUM’s length. A sleeping cocoon is hidden in the back part of the cockpit in which the second driver can rest while the first one is working.

Photo: © FH JOANNEUM / Industrial Design

Projekt

High Efficiency Coach

Transportation Design

 
High Efficiency Coach

In Kooperation mit der MAN Truck & Bus AG entstanden Fahrzeugkonzepte für Fernreisebusse der Marken MAN und NEOPLAN, die eine maximale Reisegeschwindigkeit von 130 Kilometer pro Stunde erreichen. Dadurch werden höhere Durchschnittsgeschwindigkeiten und kürzere Reisezeiten erzielt.

Der zukünftige High Efficiency Coach wird auf kürzeren Strecken zu einer echten Alternative zum Flugzeug. Da höhere Geschwindigkeiten auch einen höheren Luftwiderstand verursachen, der Verbrauch jedoch nicht ansteigen soll, wurden Überlegungen zur Reduktion des Energieverbrauchs miteinbezogen.

Die Projektarbeiten zum Thema Transportation Design wurden von Studierenden des Master-Studiums Industrial Design im Wintersemester 2015/2016 umgesetzt.

NEOPLAN A24-7 AERO

Laura Lang, Ivo Wawer, Daniel Brunsteiner

Aero 24-7 ist ein aerodynamischer, hocheffizienter Reisebus, der sowohl tagsüber als auch nachts ohne Unterbrechung fahren kann. Ein Modus für autonomes Fahren macht dies möglich. Neben dem Privatjet-Gefühl bietet der Bus den Passagieren einen entspannten Schlaf- und Arbeitsplatz. Die speziell gestalteten Fahrgastsitze und ihre Anordnung in Einzelreihen erfüllen die neuen Anforderungen der Fahrgäste.

MAN START-UP

Clara Feßler, Martin Friedrich, Benjamin Loinger

MAN Start-up ist ein modulares Bussystem, das sich an die Bedürfnisse der Busunternehmer richtet. Der Basisbus kann durch drei Module mit Stauraum, Platzanzahl und Sitzabstand individuell erweitert werden. Die Farbgebung ist an die Corporate Identity des Busunternehmens adaptierbar. Die Steuerung kann einem vorausfahrenden Fahrzeug übergeben werden. So kann der Fahrer des hinteren Fahrzeugs die Lenkpausen während der Fahrt im Cockpit verbringen.

OMNI 2.0

Philipp Fromme, Jenny Gebler, Marian Massegg

MAN OMNI 2.0 ist ein Doppeldeckerbus mit einer leicht zugänglichen und besonders geräumigen Business-Class. Die großzügigen Dimensionen bieten auch Menschen mit körperlichen Einschränkungen höchsten Komfort. MAN OMNI 2.0 ist ein Bus für alle.

ROADTRAIN 2026

Luis Meixner, Jan Ernhardt, Thomas Gössler, Dieter Friedrich

Der Roadtrain zieht seinen Vorteil aus dem Konzept eines Sattelzugs. Insbesondere dessen Manövrierfähigkeit bietet die Möglichkeit, eine größtmögliche Anzahl an Personen besonders effizient zwischen Hauptbahnhöfen und über Autobahnen zu befördern.

SMART UNIT

Florian Howecker, Daniel Öxler, Mara Pöllinger, Kai Grammel

MAN SMART UNIT ist ein autonomes, modulares und Städte-übergreifendes Bussystem, das eine Tür-zu-Tür-Verbindung in nur einem Fahrzeug ermöglicht. Die Reisenden können somit in kürzester Zeit und komfortabel an ihr Ziel gelangen. Das System basiert auf Busmodulen, die mithilfe der SMARTUNIT-App sowohl individuell gebucht als auch fahrplanmäßig genutzt werden können.

OTIUM

Hélène Couperot, Jean-Marc Wilkens, Malvina Krzywinska

Kokons statt der üblichen Sitze bieten ein ganz neues Reiseerlebnis. Diese abgegrenzten Bereiche verfügen über einen Liegen-ähnlichen Sitz, der völlige Entspannung bietet. So können lange Etappen im Halbliegen bequem bewältigt werden. Der zentrale Antrieb dient auch als mittlerer Drehpunkt von OTIUM und ermöglicht einen sehr geringen Wendekreis. Ein Schlafkokon ist im hinteren Teil des Cockpits integriert und kann als Ruheplatz für den zweiten Fahrer während der Fahrt genutzt werden.

Foto: © FH JOANNEUM / Industrial Design