Project

Industrial Zones in Progress

Restructuring and change of use of an industrial building

 

“We obliterate our landscape with buildings” – this and similar statements are currently popular in the media and cause not only urban designers and architects to reflect on the use of open land and landscape as resources, but also – and particularly – those responsible in politics and in the building departments of towns and communities in Styria.

First designs for the Porubsky building in Leoben

In the Design 2 course, the students of the FH JOANNEUM Master’s degree programme in Architecture focused on the Porubsky building in Leoben. They started their design approach by establishing a convincing use concept; they then attended several lectures highlighting the importance of the protection of historic buildings through to interior designs, energy optimisation and construction details.

After a short introductory session in which all important formal key parameters for the design were introduced, the students made a site visit to the existing building in order to obtain an impression of its spaces, qualities and the existing building fabric. At the time of the visit, the students witnessed the last technology tests for an event, which showed that the building offered many opportunities, even before refurbishment, albeit in a slightly morbid but nevertheless charming built environment.

The participants found that the currently unused vaulted cellar has a special, unique character. Back in Graz after the visit, the budding designers produced their first ideas for use concepts. These concepts were based on the objectives and ideas formulated in previous workshops for the Porubsky building by the Municipality of Leoben.

Architectural intervention in the existing building

The acknowledged spatial quality of the existing building impressed the design participants to the extent that the teams discussed primarily contents and processes without developing design statements or ideas in parallel. This became apparent in an intermediate critique, which focused almost exclusively on functional and use-related ideas. At this stage, any architectural intervention in the existing building fabric was kept to a minimum. However, the design of the team that later won the competition already stood out at that time. Their design bravely opened up the vaulting in order to create an open, multi-storey space.

Interdisciplinary input

After the intermediate critique, there was an increased focus on the design for the existing concepts, including input from associated subject areas.

Alois Murnig joined the weekly design consultations in order to discuss conservation aspects of the planned interventions. With her students specialising in Space & Design, Barbara Baumgartner examined selected aspects in greater depth, while Goga Nawarra-Sommer focused on different approaches in the field of energy efficiency for buildings as part of the specialisation in Sustainability & Energy. During project week, Alexandra Würz-Stalder guided the same students through the use of sustainable materials. Alfred Bramberger who, together with Sämi Behnam and Tim Lüking, was also available to mentor the design teams during project week, asked the students to develop construction details for the transition between the existing building fabric and the building to be added.

Owing to this multidisciplinary input, the designs achieved great depth within a very short time. What was much more important to the students however was the realisation that decisions always have an effect at several levels. Following considerations tabled by the various subject areas, the conceptual designs were scrutinised and had to stand up with respect to construction feasibility, energy optimisation as well as conservation criteria. The same work was assessed by the different lecturers from the perspective of the relevant curriculum subject.

The deliberations of the jury were not open to the public, and took place at the Porubsky building. The jury members then announced their decision on the occasion of the opening of the exhibition.

First place: “Leoben glows” by Christoph Haslinger and Laurids-Axel Schloffer

From an ecological and economical point of view, it makes sense to rid the overall premises of poorly usable areas. Critical criteria were the depth of the building and the resulting quality of daylight, as well as the condition of the enclosing building components and the requirement for floor area. In the spirit of responsible design, which takes into account the needs of future generations of users, the project team was keen to produce a project that is financially viable over the long term.

In order to make it possible to use the Porubsky building as a multifunctional venue, large parts of the ceiling over the cellar are removed. This creates a two-storey, naturally lit space with a floor area of about 390 m2 and a surrounding gallery with 120 m2. The “thinking factory”, a modern office area for communal use, lies to the south-west of the building complex. Ancillary areas, such as sanitary facilities and server rooms, are located in the directly adjoining cellar area.

The atelier has a floor area of about 105 m2, has adequate natural light, and can be accessed from several sides. It is intended as a space for artists to work together with young people. The works of art produced can subsequently be exhibited in the sculpture garden of the premises or in the centre of Leoben.

The bar and the restaurant both feature a protected outdoor dining area in the inner courtyard. The basement contains a 340 m2 foyer including sanitary facilities, and 210 m2 of storage area. The residential tower includes an area of 396 m2 for managed and shared young people’s accommodation, a hostel, starter flats, accommodation for unaccompanied refugees, student apartments or classic apartments. If needed, converted railway carriages can be used as apartments for artists, or similar.

Other winning projects

Second place went to the team “Zurück in die Zukunft/Back to the Future” (Patrick Stumbauer and Mario Steiner) and third place to the team “Umnutzung der Industriehalle Leoben/Change of Use of Leoben Industrial Building” (Florian Maierl and Nicole Tippelt).

The special prize was awarded to the group “ Das Dreierlei/The Threesome” (Carina Franz and Patrick Hollensteiner).

Videos

During the course of the 2015 Summer of Architecture organised by the House of Architecture in Graz, all projects were displayed at the Leoben Municipal Building Office in July 2015.

Projekt

Industrial Zones in Progress

Restrukturierung und Umnutzung eines Industriegebäudes

 

„Wir verbauen unsere Landschaft“ dieses und ähnliche Statements kursieren zurzeit in der medialen Landschaft und lassen nicht nur StädteplanerInnen sowie Architektinnen und Architekten über den Umgang mit den Ressourcen Freiland und Landschaft nachdenken, sondern insbesondere auch die Verantwortlichen in Politik, Baudirektionen und Bauämtern steirischer Städte und Gemeinden.

Erste Entwürfe für die Porubsky-Halle in Leoben

In der Lehrveranstaltung Entwurf 2 beschäftigen sich die Studierenden des Master-Studiengangs Architektur der FH JOANNEUM mit der Leobener Porubsky-Halle. Dabei begann ihr Weg bei der Erstellung eines schlüssigen Nutzungskonzepts und führte sie im Rahmen unterschiedlicher Lehrveranstaltungen über eine Auseinandersetzung mit Aspekten des Denkmalschutzes bis hin zu Innenraumentwürfen, energetischen Optimierungen und konstruktiven Details.

Nach einer kurzen Einführungsveranstaltung, in der die wesentlichen formalen Eckpunkte für den Entwurf vorgestellt wurden, besichtigten die Entwerfenden das Bestandsgebäude, um so einen guten Eindruck von dessen Räumen und ihren Qualitäten sowie der baulichen Substanz zu bekommen. Zum Zeitpunkt der Besichtigung fanden die letzten Techniktests für eine Veranstaltung statt. Dadurch erlebten die Studierenden, dass bereits im unsanierten Zustand viele Möglichkeiten gepaart mit einer leicht morbiden, aber durchaus charmanten Raumästhetik gegeben waren.

Dem derzeit ungenutzten Gewölbekeller attestierten die Beteiligten einen speziellen, einzigartigen Charakter. Auf die Besichtigung folgten zurück in Graz bald die ersten Ideen zu Nutzungskonzepten. Grundlage für die Konzeptbildung waren von der Stadt Leoben in früheren Workshops formulierte Ziele und Wünsche für die Porubsky-Halle.

Archtektonische Eingriffe in den Bestand

Die erkannten räumlichen Qualitäten des Bestandes waren für die EntwurfsteilnehmerInnen so prägend, dass von den Teams in der Folge vor allem Inhalte und Abläufe diskutiert wurden, ohne parallel dazu gestalterische Aussagen oder Ideen zu entwickeln. Dieses zeigte sich in einer Zwischenkritik, in der fast ausschließlich funktionale und nutzungstechnische Vorstellungen präsentiert wurden. Die vorgesehenen architektonischen Eingriffe in den Bestand waren zu diesem Zeitpunkt größtenteils sehr reduziert. Heraus stach bei dieser Gelegenheit allerdings bereits der Entwurf des späteren Wettbewerbsgewinner-Teams, der in einem mutigen Schritt das Gewölbe aufschneidet und so einen mehrgeschossigen Raum eröffnet.

Fächerübergreifende Bearbeitung

Nach der Zwischenkritik wurden die Entwurfsansätze verstärkt thematisiert und ebenfalls in den assoziierten Fächern diskutiert.

Alois Murnig gesellte sich zu den wöchentlichen Entwurfskonsultationen, um denkmalpflegerische Gesichtspunkte der geplanten Eingriffe zu diskutieren. Barbara Baumgartner vertiefte individuell ausgewählte Aspekte mit ihren Studierenden der Raum & Design-Vertiefung, während Goga Nawarra-Sommer unterschiedliche Ansätze im Bereich der Gebäude-Energieeffizienz in der Vertiefungsrichtung Nachhaltigkeit und Energie beleuchtete. Mit den gleichen Studierenden betrachtete Alexandra Würz-Stalder den Einsatz nachhaltiger Materialien in der Projektwoche. Alfred Bramberger, der zusammen mit Sämi Behnam und Tim Lüking ebenfalls den Entwurf betreute, ließ in der Projektwoche die Studierenden konstruktive Details für den Übergang von Bestand und ergänzender Konstruktion entwickeln.

Die Entwürfe erreichten durch diese fächerübergreifende Bearbeitung innerhalb kürzester Zeit eine hohe Tiefe. Viel wichtiger jedoch war für die Studierenden die Auseinandersetzung mit der Tatsache, dass sich Entscheidungen immer auf mehreren Ebenen auswirken. Durch die lehrveranstaltungsübergreifende Durchführung mussten die gestalterischen Wünsche der Überprüfung konstruktiver Möglichkeiten, einer energetischen Optimierung und denkmalpflegerischen Vorgaben standhalten. Die gleiche Arbeit wurde von den einzelnen Lehrenden unter Berücksichtigung der jeweiligen Lehrveranstaltung benotet.

Die Jury tagte unter Ausschluss der Öffentlichkeit in der Porubsky-Halle. Anschließend gaben die Juroren vor Ort die Entscheidung im Rahmen der Ausstellungseröffnung bekannt.

Platz 1: „Leoben glüht“ von Christoph Haslinger und Laurids-Axel Schloffer

Aus ökologischer und aus ökonomischer Sicht macht es Sinn, die Gesamtanlage von schlecht nutzbaren Bereichen zu befreien. Die hierbei entscheidenden Kriterien waren die Gebäudetiefen und die daraus resultierenden Belichtungssituationen sowie der Zustand der umhüllenden Bauteile und der Bedarf an Gesamtnutzfläche. Im Sinne einer verantwortlichen Planung, die auf zukünftige Nutzergenerationen Rücksicht nimmt, war es dem Projektteam wichtig, ein Projekt darzustellen, welches finanziell langfristig tragbar ist.

Um die Nutzung der Porubksy-Halle als multifunktionellen Veranstaltungssaal zu ermöglichen, wird die Kellerdecke großflächig geöffnet. Es entsteht ein zweigeschossiger, natürlich belichteter Saal mit circa 390 m2 Grundfläche und einer 120 m2 großen umlaufenden Galerie. Die Denkfabrik als moderne, gemeinschaftlich zu nutzende Bürofläche liegt im südwestlichen Bereich des Gebäudekomplexes. Nebenflächen wie der Sanitärbereich und Serveranlagen liegen im direkt angeschlossenen Kellerbereich.

Das Atelier verfügt über eine Fläche von circa 105 m2, ist ausreichend natürlich belichtet und von mehreren Seiten erschließbar. Hier sollen Künstlerinnen und Künstler gemeinsam mit jungen Menschen arbeiten. Die Werke können anschließend im Skulpturengarten des Areals oder im Zentrum von Leoben ausgestellt werden.

Die Bar und das Restaurant verfügen über einen geschützten Gastgarten im Innenhof. Im UG befindet sich ein 340 m2 großes Foyer inklusive Sanitärbereich sowie 210 m2 Lagerflächen. Der Wohnturm hat 396 m2 Wohnfläche für eine betreute Jugend WG, ein Hostel, Starterwohnungen, die Unterbringung von unbegleiteten Flüchtlingen, Studenten-Appartements oder ganz klassische Wohnungen. Umgebaute Eisenbahnwaggons dienen bei Bedarf als Künstlerappartements o. Ä.

Weitere Siegerprojekte

Platz 2 ging an das Team „Zurück in die Zukunft“ (Patrick Stumbauer und Mario Steiner) und Platz 3 an das Team „Umnutzung der Industriehalle Leoben“ (Florian Maierl unf Nicole Tippelt). Den Sonderpreis erhielt die Gruppe „Das Dreierlei“ (Carina Franz und Patrick Hollensteiner).

Videos

Im Zuge des Architektursommers 2015, veranstaltet vom Haus der Architektur Graz, gab es im Juli 2015 eine Ausstellung aller ausgearbeiteten Projekte im Stadtbauamt Leoben.