Project

JOANNEUM Power Electronics Center

 

High-efficiency energy conversion and innovative power electronics for the future. The JOANNEUM Power Electronics Center (JPEC) conducts research into minimising the energy loss between power station and wall sockets by means of ultra compact power electronics components with the aim of increasing the efficiency of electricity transmission.

Electrical energy undergoes many conversions from production to wall sockets, and each time energy is lost. Due to this, for instance, only approx. 50% of the energy from a wind farm actually arrives at the end user. Losses from these conversions have been continually reduced in the last decades, but they still amount to a high percentage of global electricity consumption.

Storage systems to balance out increasing fluctuations – e.g. through the integration of renewable sources – lead to additional conversion levels. This makes the use of high-efficiency power electronics ever more urgent. The increasingly available “wide-band gap” power semiconductors (based on gallium nitride and silicon carbide) enable markedly higher efficiency levels to be achieved at more compact sizes. A successful market penetration of these energy-saving devices requires a whole range of technical solutions in addition to lower prices.

Comprehensive optimisation of power semiconductors

The JOANNEUM Power Electronics Center has been concentrating on a comprehensive optimisation approach in relation to topologies, filters (including electromagnetic compatibility, EMC), advanced packaging and the associated dynamic controls on the basis of a combination of high-performance microprocessors and configurable logic (FPGA). The design of a highly efficient driver chip for eGaN® transistors should finally complement the approach to comprehensive circuit optimisation and, on top of this, support the formation of a strategic focus within the existing chip design group.

Demonstrators in the implementation phase

The implementation phase of the JOANNEUM Power Electronics Center, sponsored as a Research Studio Austria by the Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG), will include building demonstrators to prove the practical applicability of the concepts, simulations and designs. “Of course we want to carry out long-term research in this promising field. And we want to demonstrate how much energy can be saved and persuade industry to invest in new technologies and bring them to market,” says project manager Christian Netzberger.

Projekt

JOANNEUM Power Electronics Center

 

Hocheffiziente Energieumwandlung und innovative Leistungselektronik für die Zukunft: Im JOANNEUM Power Electronic Center (JPEC) wird daran geforscht, den Energieverlust zwischen Kraftwerk und Steckdose mittels ultrakompakten Leistungselektronikkomponenten zu minimieren und so die Effizienz und Wirtschaftlichkeit des Stromtransports zu steigern.

Von der Erzeugung bis zur Steckdose wird elektrische Energie vielfachen Umwandlungen unterzogen, und jedes Mal geht dabei Energie verloren. Dadurch kommen zum Beispiel nur ca. 50 % der Energie aus einem Windkraftwerk bei den Endverbrauchern an. Die Verluste dieser Umwandlungen konnten in den letzten Jahrzehnten zwar kontinuierlich verringert werden, sie belaufen sich in Summe aber nach wie vor auf einen beträchtlichen Prozentsatz des weltweiten Stromverbrauchs.

Speichersysteme zum Ausgleich von zunehmenden Schwankungen – z. B. durch die Netzeinspeisung aus erneuerbaren Quellen – führen zu zusätzlichen Umwandlungsstufen, sodass der Einsatz von hocheffizienter Leistungselektronik umso dringlicher wird. Die mittlerweile vermehrt verfügbaren „Wide Band-Gap“-Leistungshalbleiter (basierend auf Gallium-Nitrid und Silicium-Carbid) ermöglichen deutlich höhere Wirkungsgrade bei gleichzeitig geringerem Bauvolumen. Für eine erfolgreiche Marktdurchdringung dieser energiesparenden Geräte bedarf es jedoch neben der erwarteten Preisreduktion auch noch einer Reihe von Lösungen in technischer Hinsicht.

Umfassende Optimierung von Leistungshalbleitern

Das JOANNEUM Power Electronics Center beschäftigt sich intensiv mit einem umfassenden Optimierungsansatz in Bezug auf Topologien, Filter (inklusive Elektromagnetischer Verträglichkeit, EMV), „Advanced Packaging“ und den zugehörigen dynamischen Regelungen auf Basis einer Kombination aus leistungsstarken Mikroprozessoren und konfigurierbarer Logik (FPGA). Das Design eines hocheffizienten Treiberchips für eGaN®-Transistoren soll schließlich den Ansatz zur umfassenden Schaltungsoptimierung ergänzen und zudem den Aufbau eines strategischen Schwerpunktes innerhalb der bestehenden Chip-Design-Gruppe fördern.

Demonstratoren in der Umsetzungsphase

In der Umsetzungsphase des als Research Studio Austria von der FFG geförderten JOANNEUM Power Electronic Centers werden dann Demonstratoren aufgebaut, die die praktische Anwendbarkeit der Konzepte, Simulationen und Designs unter Beweis stellen sollen. „Wir wollen natürlich langfristig an diesem zukunftsreichen Feld forschen. Und wir wollen zeigen, wie viel Energie eingespart werden kann und in Folge die Industrie überzeugen, in neue Technologien zu investieren und sie auf den Markt zu bringen“, sagt Projektleiter Christian Netzberger.