Project

Urban Gardening

 
Urban Gardening 8

In the academic year 2014/15, students of the Construction Design and Economics and Sustainable Food Management programmes developed concepts for the design and construction of innovative raised plant beds, some of which can also be used as urban furniture. A jury selected the best projects; the winning project was realised on the FH JOANNEUM campus and is also designed to encourage neighbourhood gardening projects.

Turning urban wasteland into gardens where you can grow fruit and vegetables for your own consumption is the goal of the urban gardening movement that is spreading around the globe. The aim of the joint course of the degree programmes Construction Design and Economics (BBW) and Sustainable Food Management (LEB) in the 2014/15 academic year was to use common and cheap materials to plan raised plant beds for urban gardening and implement them in Graz-Eggenberg. Mixed BBW and LEB teams looked for suitable locations on the FH JOANNEUM campus as well as plants and calculated the costs of the innovative raised plant bed designs.

A jury consisting of representatives of FH JOANNEUM, Gebäude- und Bau-Management Graz GmbH (GBG), the STA EggenLend community support group and the district representative of Graz-Eggenberg eventually chose the three winning projects. The projects were also presented to the interested public during the "Grazer Architektursommer" architecture event in 2015.

The winning projects

(with illustrations)

1st prize: 3er

The triangular model 3er not only serves as a raised plant bed, but also as a seat. This piece of urban furniture impresses with its spatial and functional versatility. The three levels of the 3er can be used in different ways depending on requirements. One module can be assembled from six identical elements and combines the aspects of harvesting and social encounter.

Since summer 2015, the 3er module has encouraged residents of the district to come to the FH JOANNEUM campus and try their hand at gardening. The campus of the university of applied sciences serves as a testing ground for later communal gardens in public areas. The raised plant beds are also used for teaching and research in the Sustainable Food Management programme: In 2016 the students grow chillies here to measure their hotness and to compare their readings with taste sensations. If the 3er module on the campus proves successful, it will also be set up in other places around Graz.

Photo: FH JOANNEUM
2nd prize: It's already there

In the interest of sustainability, the project "It's already there" will not add new elements to the public space, but rather make better use of what's already there: Unused or unnoticed spaces such as niches, pedestals and troughs are adapted and turned into garden areas using troughs, boxes etc. The specific concept can only be used on the FH JOANNEUM grounds; however, the same principle can be applied to regenerate and revegetate other places.

Photo: FH JOANNEUM
3rd prize: Blox

Three-layer panels are the material used for the raised plant bed model "Blox". Its modular structure encourages users to play around with the various design options. Blox is not just a raised plant bed, it is also a multi-functional eye-catcher with a message.

Most original idea: G-Modul

In physics, the German term “G-Modul” denotes a material constant. In the urban gardening project of FH JOANNEUM it is used in a more narrow sense to refer to the basic construction set of another raised plant bed design: the beverage crate. The advantage of this module: The basic shapes can be combined with each other in a variety of different ways, like play bricks. It is also weather-resistant and durable. – The jury awarded this project the title "most original and actionist idea".

Photo: FH JOANNEUM

For more information about all 13 raised plant bed designs, go to the project website.

Projekt

Urban Gardening

 
Urban Gardening 7

Studierende von „Bauplanung und Bauwirtschaft“ und „Nachhaltiges Lebensmittelmanagement“ haben im Studienjahr 2014/15 Konzepte zu Gestaltung und Bau von innovativen Hochbeeten entwickelt, die zum Teil auch als Stadtmöbel nutzbar sind. Eine Jury kürte die besten Projekte; das Siegerprojekt wurde am Campus der FH JOANNEUM umgesetzt und soll zum Nachbarschaftsgärtnern anregen.

Städtische Brachflächen in Gärten verwandeln, wo man Obst und Gemüse für den Eigenbedarf anbauen kann, ist das Ziel der Urban-Gardening-Bewegung, die sich rund um den Globus ausbreitet. Mit gängigen und günstigen Materialien Hochbeete für das Stadtgärtnern zu planen und in Graz-Eggenberg umzusetzen, war das Ziel einer gemeinsamen Lehrveranstaltung der Studiengänge „Bauplanung und Bauwirtschaft“(BBW) und „Nachhaltiges Lebensmittelmanagement“ (LEB) im Studienjahr 2014/15. Gemischte BBW-LEB-Teams haben geeignete Standorte am FH-Campus und mögliche Bepflanzungen erkundet sowie die Kosten der innovativen Hochbeet-Entwürfe errechnet.

Eine Jury, der VertreterInnen der FH JOANNEUM, der GBG (Gebäude- und Bau-Management Graz GmbH), der Stadtteilarbeit STA EggenLend sowie der Bezirksvorsteher von Graz-Eggenberg angehörten, kürte schließlich drei Siegerprojekte. Zusätzlich wurden die Projekte im Rahmen des Grazer Architektursommers 2015 der interessierten Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt.

Die ausgezeichneten Projekte
1. Preis: 3er

Das Dreiecksmodul 3er dient nicht nur alsHochbeet, sondern auch als Sitzgelegenheit. Das Stadtmöbel überzeugt durch seine räumliche und funktionale Vielseitigkeit. Die verschiedenen Ebenen vom 3er lassen sich je nach Anforderung beliebig bespielen. Ein Modul lässt sich aus sechs gleichen Elementen zusammenfügen und vereint Funktion der Ernte und Begegnung in sich.

Das 3er-Stadtmöbel lädt seit Sommer 2015 am Campus der FH JOANNEUM alle BewohnerInnen des Stadtviertels zum „Garteln“ ein. Das Gelände der Fachhochschule dient dabei als Testareal zur Errichtung von Gemeinschaftsgärten auf öffentlichem Grund. Die Hochbeete werden aber auch für die Lehre und Forschung am Studiengang Nachhaltiges Lebensmittelmanagement genutzt: 2016 bauen hier die Studierenden Chilis an, um ihre Schärfe zu analysieren und Messwerte mit Geschmacksempfindungen zu vergleichen. Wenn sich das 3er-Modul am Campus bewährt, dann soll es künftig auch an anderen Orten von Graz zu finden sein.

alt
Foto: FH JOANNEUM
2. Preis: It's already there

Ganz im Sinne der Nachhaltigkeit will das Projekt „It's already there“ dem öffentlichen Raum keine neuen Elemente hinzufügen, sondern Bestehendes besser nutzen: Brachliegende oder nicht wahrgenommen Orte wie Nischen, Sockel oder Tröge sollen adaptiert und mit Trögen und Kisten etc. als Gartenflächen eingerichtet werden. Das konkrete Konzept ist rein für das FH-Gelände anwendbar, jedoch lassen sich jegliche andere Orte mit den gleichen Prinzipien begrünen und erneuern.

Foto: FH JOANNEUM
3. Preis: Blox

Dreischichtplatten sind das Material des Hochbeetmodells „Blox“. Auch hier lädt der modulartige Aufbau dazu ein, mit den vielfältigen Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten zu spielen. Blox ist nicht nur ein Hochbeet, sondern ein multifunktionaler Eyecatcher mit Signalwirkung.

Foto: FH JOANNEUM
Originellste Idee: G-Modul

In der Physik versteht man unter G-Modul eine Materialkonstante. Im Urban-Gardening-Projekt der FH JOANNEUM wird damit – im engeren Sinn des Wortes – der Grundbaukasten einer weiteren Hochbeet-Gestaltung verstanden: eine Getränkekiste. Der Vorteil dieses Moduls: Die Grundform lässt sich wie Spielzeugklötzchen unendlich variantenreich miteinander kombinieren. Darüber hinaus ist sie wetterbeständig und lange haltbar. – Die Jury zeichnete das Projekt als „originellste und aktionistischste Idee“ aus.

Foto: FH JOANNEUM

Weitere Infos zu allen Entwürfen stehen auf der Projektwebsite zur Verfügung.