Massenspektrometrie und molekulare Analytik 2
Department of Health Studies

Mass Spectrometry and Molecular Analysis

 

Immerse yourself into the world of molecular analysis and conduct research into the forward-looking field of life sciences: we will teach you innovative techniques and applications in molecular biology, pharmacology, genetic engineering, nanotechnology and bio-informatics. You will also have a chance to further develop your knowledge of molecular diagnostics and therapy or mass spectrometry.

What you will learn:

Chromatography & mass spectrometry techniques

You’ll learn about complex instrumental analysis techniques and how they are applied, for example electrophoresis, thin film, gas, liquid and high performance liquid chromatography and mass spectrometry, UV/VIS, IR, Raman and fluorescence spectroscopy.

Bio-informatics & statistical methods

Mass spectrometry and molecular screening methods generate vast quantities of data. You will therefore acquire essential knowledge about how to process large quantities of data as well as addressing key data management issues.

Molecular techniques & life sciences

You’ll discover the latest analytical procedures in molecular biology and genetic engineering. The focus will be on practical application in the field of molecular diagnostics and nanotechnology and in the production of recombinant proteins such as in vaccine manufacturing.

Mass Spectrometry (MS)

You’ll further develop your knowledge of innovative techniques and applications of various MS systems, special ionisation and quantification techniques, including standardisation methods. This will enable you to solve complex analytical questions.

Master’s thesis

In the ‘Scientific writing and presentation’ sessions, you will prepare for your empirical master’s thesis in the 4th semester, which you can complete either at your company, at a partner business or at FH JOANNEUM.

Specialisation in Molecular Diagnostics, Therapy and Production

You’ll further develop your knowledge in future-oriented fields such as somatic gene therapy, biomarker identification, protein engineering, therapeutic cloning, stem cell therapy and next generation sequencing. Of course, ethical issues will also be taken into consideration. You will cover everything you need to know from the design of experiments to the practical implementation and validation of test systems.

Did you know, …

… that our graduates work in a wide range of fields?

Our graduates work for both private and public institutions, for example, in environmental and food analytics, biomedicine, biostatistics, quality assurance, the development of medical products and measuring instruments, nanotechnology, forensics, sustainability research and pharmaceutics.

Did you know, …

… that we offer an entry-level corridor and a range of freely selectable electives during the first semester?

During the first semester, you can select our entry-level corridor and associated elective courses to provide you with fundamentals in biology and chemistry and refresh your grounding in chemistry or molecular biology.

Did you know, …

… that you can specialise further during your 3rd semester?

Depending on the focus of your interests, you can specialise in ‘Molecular Diagnostics, Therapy and Production’ or in ‘Mass Spectrometry’.

Did you know, …

… that you can apply the theory you have learnt in a practical environment?

You can apply the theoretical knowledge you have learnt in the laboratory. We provide state-of-the-art instruments and equipment, drawing on the latest technologies in molecular biology and mass spectrometry.

Did you know, …

… that this course only involves minimal attendance at FH JOANNEUM?

The high level of e-learning and self-study content means that you will only spend 12 weekends per semester at FH JOANNEUM, on Fridays and Saturdays.

Did you know, …

… that you can spend the 4th semester abroad?

You will have the opportunity to complete your master’s thesis at a partner laboratory abroad.

Massenspektrometrie und molekulare Analytik 2
Department für Gesundheitsstudien

Massenspektrometrie und molekulare Analytik

 
  • Akademischer Grad:

    Master of Science in Engineering (MSc)

  • Organisationsform:

    Berufsbegleitend / 4 Semester / 120 ECTS

  • Unterrichtssprache:

    Deutsch

  • Studiengangsleitung:

    DI Dr. Andreas Reisner (interimistisch)

  • Standort:

    Graz

Tauchen Sie ein in die Welt der molekularen Analytik und forschen Sie auf dem zukunftsweisenden Gebiet der „Life Sciences“: Bei uns lernen Sie nicht nur innovative Techniken und Anwendungen in der Molekularbiologie, Pharmakologie, Gen- & Nanotechnologie sowie Bioinformatik, Sie vertiefen sich auch in die molekulare Diagnostik und Therapie oder Massenspektrometrie.

Das erwartet Sie im Studium:

Chromatographische und massenspektrometrische Techniken

Sie lernen komplexe instrumentelle Analyseverfahren kennen, und wie man sie anwendet. Zum Beispiel Elektrophorese, Dünnschicht-, Gas-, Flüssigkeits- und Hochleistungsflüssigkeits-Chromatographie sowie Massenspektrometrie, UV/VIS-, IR-, Raman- und Fluoreszenz-Spektroskopie.

Bioinformatik und statistische Verfahren

Massenspektrometrische und molekulare Screening-Methoden generieren große Datenmengen. Sie erwerben daher essenzielle Kenntnisse in der Datenauswertung und im Datenmanagement.

Molekulare Techniken und „Life Sciences“

Sie entdecken modernste analytische Verfahren in der Molekularbiologie und Gentechnologie. Der Fokus liegt auf der praktischen Anwendung im Umfeld der Molekularen Diagnostik und Nanotechnologie sowie in der Produktion rekombinanter Proteine wie etwa in der Impfstoffherstellung.

Massenspektrometrie

Im Wahlmodul vertiefen Sie sich in innovative Techniken und Anwendungsgebiete von massenspektrometrischen Systemen, in spezielle Ionisierungstechniken sowie in Techniken der Quantifizierung inklusive Standardisierungs-Verfahren.

Master-Arbeit

In den Lehrveranstaltungen zum Thema „Wissenschaftliche Arbeitstechniken“ bereiten Sie sich auf die empirische Master-Arbeit vor, die Sie im 4. Semester entweder in Ihrem Unternehmen, in einem Partnerunternehmen oder direkt an der FH JOANNEUM durchführen können.

Wahlmodul Molekulare Diagnostik, Therapie und Produktion

Sie vertiefen sich in zukunftsrelevante Bereiche wie somatische Gentherapie, Identifikation von Biomarkern, Protein Engineering, therapeutisches Klonen, Stammzelltherapie oder „Next-Generation-Sequencing“. Dabei berücksichtigen Sie natürlich ethische Aspekte. Von der experimentellen Planung über die praktische Durchführung bis hin zur Validierung von Testsystemen lernen Sie alles kennen.

Wussten Sie, …

… dass vielfältige Tätigkeitsfelder auf unsere Absolventinnen und Absolventen warten?

Sie sind in privaten und öffentlichen Einrichtungen tätig, zum Beispiel in der Umwelt- und Lebensmittelanalytik, Biomedizin, Biostatistik, Qualitätssicherung, Entwicklung von Medizinprodukten- und Messinstrumenten, Nanotechnologie, Forensik, Nachhaltigkeitsforschung und Pharmazie.

Wussten Sie, …

… dass es im ersten Semester einen Einstiegskorridor und freie Wahlfächer gibt?

Im ersten Semester können Sie einen Einstiegskorridor und zugehörige Wahlfächer im Bereich biologischer und chemischer Grundlagen wählen, um Ihre chemischen oder molekularbiologischen Vorkenntnisse aufzufrischen.

Wussten Sie, …

… dass Sie im 3. Semester eine Vertiefungsrichtung auswählen können?

Je nach Interesse können Sie sich im Fokus „Molekulare Diagnostik, Therapie und Produktion“ oder im Fokus „Massenspektrometrie“ spezialisieren.

Wussten Sie, …

… dass Sie bei uns die Theorie unmittelbar in der Praxis anwenden?

Sie haben die Möglichkeit, Ihr theoretisches Wissen im Labor gleich selbst umzusetzen. Wir bieten Ihnen eine hochwertige instrumentelle Ausstattung mit modernsten Geräten im Bereich molekularbiologischer sowie massenspektrometrischer Technologien.

Wussten Sie, …

… dass die Präsenzzeit an der FH JOANNEUM bei diesem Studium sehr gering ist?

Durch den hohen Einsatz von E-Learning und Selbststudium verbringen Sie nur zehn Wochenenden pro Semester, jeweils am Freitag und Samstag, an der FH JOANNEUM.

Wussten Sie, …

… dass Sie das 4. Semester im Ausland verbringen können?

Sie haben die Möglichkeit, Ihre Master-Arbeit in einem Partnerlabor im Ausland zu verfassen.